My first trip to the pawpaw patch…

I am always on the hunt for wild edibles and so far, since Stacy has been here, we have found blackberries, pears, crab apples, wild plums both mexican and sand plums, the longtime favorite morrell mushrooms and now the paw paw.  My friend Steve A. took me to a little patch just so I could get a good close look at what I was trying to find.  I got’em now and I have lots of ideas of places to search so look out paw paw patches I am onto you.

There is more information to be found on this delicacy at: Kentucky State University Pawpaw Site.

But the number one question can be answered like this.

“Pawpaws have a creamy, custard-like flesh with a complex combination of tropical fruit flavors. They are most commonly described as tasting like banana combined with mango, pineapple, melon, berries, or other fruit. There is a considerable variety of flavors among wild pawpaws, ranging from awful to sublime. Most pawpaws taste good, some are truly wonderful, and a few are better for throwing than for eating.”

Just so you know the ones I found are pretty damn good.

Leave a Reply

