Actias Luna

Dave hit me up just before smoke break this morning and told me about this big moth by the back door.  Man he wasn’t kidding, I think this may be the biggest moth I’ve ever seen.  I used a shot of it for my 365 but I had a few good shots to choose from so I thought I would post them up here.  Make sure you click on the thumbnails below to see them full size enjoy!

 

Wikipedia says: Actias luna, commonly known as the Luna Moth, is a lime-green, Nearctic Saturniid moth in the subfamily Saturniinae. It has a wingspan of up to four and a half inches, which ranks it as one of the largest moths in North America.

One response to “Actias Luna

Leave a Reply

