Jupiter’s Moons

I go to APOD about everyday, it makes me feel like I’m learning something even if I don’t exactly understand what the picture of the day is or how it may pertain to me.  But I generally go there everyday and if I see something that really sticks then I will download it and use it as a background for my desktop.

Anyhow, the other day I went to see what I might learn and lo and behold there was cloud covered picture of our Moon with Jupiter and his moons leading the way across the elliptical plane.  What a very kewl shot, I mean, there is something about looking through a telescope and seeing the moons that Galileo saw but this was different, it isn’t shot through a telescope  the guy behind the camera was able to capture them without one and I had to give that a try.

Here is my attempt, at first glance you will notice that in my shots Jupiter is overexposed and I believe that is due in part, to the lack of clouds that act as a natural filter in his shots.  You might also notice that there only appears to be three dancing moons.  I think the reason for that is that one of the moons is either in front or directly behind the planet itself.

_MG_7290

LINKS:

APOD Archive – http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/archivepix.html

Moons and Jupiter – http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap090714.html