What kind of pie? Hell no I don’t want any. WTF?

Yeah, you read right,  today I came across a variety of pie that I refused to try.  The production manager at the plant Bill, well, he cooks a lot, so far he has brought smoked brisket, jalapeno flavored peanut brittle and smoked cheese. (which are all awesome by the way)  Today though, he brought in something that I would have never expected, let alone thought of, vinegar pie.  See, I was headed to the 10 o’clock production meeting when I met Safety Dave on the stairs carrying what appeared to be some sort of specimen in a small airtight plastic container. No bigs really, but when he got back to the conference room there was a smell trailing along with him.  It wasn’t the normal Safety Dave smell that we’ve all come to expect, it was vinegar and it was coming from that specimen.  He had brought paper plates and plastic cutlery so he was planning on someone eating said specimen besides him.  He wanted to share with us or at least he wanted it to appear that way.  What he was really thinking is misery loves company and he didn’t want to be alone with this concoction.  Listen folks, I don’t know what you think but where I come from vinegar is for cleaning coffee pots and feminine hygiene products.  It should never be used as the main ingredient in something so sacred as pie.  I know, I know they say we are in a depression and that very well may be true but, I have yet to see a soup-line or read of anything remotely resembling a fruit shortage.

I have to tell you that I am very disapointed with this discovery because up until this point I thought there wasn’t any kind of pie that I wouldn’t try.  Wrong!  Thanks Bill I owe you, you my friend have taken one aspect of my life I thought would never change, my love for all things and all varieties of pie.  You Suck!

8 responses to “What kind of pie? Hell no I don’t want any. WTF?

  1. Did anyone try it? I would be interested in someone’s first time reaction. Did anyone take a picture? Just how the hell does someone make a pie out of vinegar, anyway? It sounds like an abomination and the work of the Devil.

    By the way, this is the best writing I have seen on one of your blogs. It pops and nearly sizzles. Nice job.

  2. Oh yeah plenty tried. As a matter of fact I may have been the only one not to get suckered in by the anti-pie. Russ ate it, so did Dave, Shirley, Sandy and I think Summerlin even fell for it.
    I don’t know man, Russ said that it tasted kind of like apple pie. I call a hearty bullshit on that one, but that’s what he said. Maybe we can get him to comment and explain in detail.
    I read up on it a bit and it appears it was popular during the depression. Apparently It was hard to get citrus fruit in certain areas so people would make a vinegar-meringue-type-pie with out the meringue, kind of a faux-lemon if you will. MMMmmmmm…
    There weren’t any pictures taken as far as I know. I can tell you it looked more like some sort of pastry from a high-end bakery. It was pie dough rolled out thin and then I assume, buttered, sprinkled with cinnamon and rolled up in a long roll. In and of itself not bad right? Right, the bad started when they decided to let it play the part of a miniature submarine in a vessel of vinegar.

  3. Your righteous indignation over vinegar pie really amazes me. Especially coming from someone who thinks one of lifes little culinary delites is chocolate covered bacon on a stick.

  4. Pussy! It did taste like apple pie. A little tart but also sweet and cinnamony. You couldn’t taste the vinegar but you could damn sure smell the shit! After I ate Dusty’s piece, yes, I had 2 servings, my tongue began to burn slightly from the vinegar but it went away quickly. No nasty after taste and I was really surprised how good it tasted after the funk took over the room! One of those things that you can’t trust the smell on. I’d eat it again! I do still prefer a good old butterscotch or chocolate pie, or a good apple or cherry cobbler.

  5. I still can’t believe you, of all people, tried vinegar pie. Marriage has sure changed you, Bogey.
    What happened to the finicky fucker I once knew?

  6. Dude Dusty!!! Ya know I love ya, but I f’in loooooved the pie. and you know my fat ass ate the whole thing without sharin. And as for the chocolate covered bacon, i dont know. but i do know your candied bacon still lingers it total sweetness in my mouth.

  7. Hey fate8 Kiss My Ass OK! You know I used to try just about everything during our boys night except those nasty pickled pigs feet you brought! Another vinegar laced item that damn sure doesn’t stand up to this pie! I’ll admit, I have changed, marriage does that to a guy don’t you think? In case you haven’t heard there was another vinegar pie brought in today and now the story has changed!

Leave a Reply

